Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility


Edited by Susan Swartwout

Proud to Be: Writing by American Warriors, Volume 3 presents essays, fiction, poetry, interviews, and photography by military-service personnel, veterans, and their families.

The volume also sponsored a veterans’ writing competition, judged by Daniel Simon (editor-in-chief of World Literature Today), John Mort (Soldier in Paradise and The Illegal), Geoff Giglierano (historical consultant), Bradley Phillips (professor of photography at Southeast Missouri State University), and Colin Halloran (poet, veteran, and teacher). The winners and finalists are spotlighted in the front of the book.

The anthology is the third in an annual series published by Southeast Missouri State University Press in cooperation with the Missouri Humanities Council’s Veterans Projects and the Warriors Arts Alliance.

“The stories and poems of service and sacrifice are essential in understanding what has so broadly been termed ‘the American experience.’ For me, Proud to Be: Writing by American Warriors is required reading and worthy of a thousand tears.” ―St. Leger Monty Joynes, veteran, Vietnam

Winners of the Warriors Anthology Writing Competition:

Essay Winner: Lisa Miller for “Still Falling Snow”
Essay Honorable Mentions: Diane Cameron for “Iambic Pentameter and the Meter of War” and Jay Harden for “My Mother of All Letters.”

Poetry Winner: Dominika Wrozynski for “Retrieval.”
Poetry Honorable Mentions: D.A. Gray for “Whistling Past the Graveyard” and Paul Hellweg for “Ghosts.”

Fiction Winner: Jay Harden for “Bramble Fire.” Fiction Honorable Mentions: Katherine Bell for “The Sulphur Sink” and Frederick W. Cutter for “Something’s Wrong.”

Photography Winner: Sheree K. Nielsen for “jimmie (pier)”
Photography Honorable Mentions: Jay Harden for “For the Arc Light Fallen” and “War’s Shiny Things.”

Interview Winner: S. Lorraine Norwood for “D-Day, Korea, Vietnam: An Old Warrior Lives to Tell the Tale.”
Interview Honorable Mentions: Casey Titus for “Interview of Vietnam Veteran Jim Lewis” and Gloria Pape Caviglia for “Epiphany of Maturity.”